In a move to curtail trolls and harassment, Twitter is reportedly testing a new feature that will allow users to easily leave a conversation giving them more control over those they want to interact with on the micro-blogging website.
The “Leave this conversation” feature will allow you to untag your Twitter handle (@username) from the original tweet and all the replies, stop anyone in the Twitter thread from retagging you once you have left the conversation, and prevent you from receiving notifications from that Twitter thread.
According to Jane Manchun Wong, the reputable reverse engineer who discovered the new feature “Leave this conversation”, this feature allows users who do not wish to be a part of a Twitter thread to untag themselves in which they have been tagged or mentioned.
Also, others in the thread will not be notified if you leave a conversation. However, you will still be able to view the thread after you leave the conversation.
Also Read – Twitter Verified A Fake US Congressional Candidate made by a Teenager
Twitter is working on an onboarding screen for “Leave this conversation” pic.twitter.com/cZYeOdo1pJ
— Jane Manchun Wong (@wongmjane) February 18, 2022
Currently, the “Leave this conversation” feature is in beta testing, which means it could take a long time before it is rolled out to end-users. Although there is no official confirmation from Twitter, this feature could be certainly useful for those people who do not wish to be dragged into unwanted conversations on the platform. Stay tuned for more updates!